Preface of the Editors

The 30th EPS Conference on Controlled Fusion and Plasma Physics, held in St Petersburg on July 7–11, 2003, was organized on behalf of the the Plasma Physics Division of the European Physical Society (EPS) by the Ioffe Physico-Technical Institute, State Polytechnical University and TUAP Ltd. (St Petersburg, Russia).

The Programme of the Conference reflects the intention of the Board of the Plasma Physics Division to integrate all fields of plasma physics. The topics range from fusion-related research via basic plasma physics, astrophysical plasmas to low temperature plasmas for industrial applications.






High-intensity laser-produced plasmas and inertial confinement


Alternative magnetic confinement


Plasma edge physics


Plasma heating and current drive


Diagnostics for stationary plasmas: real time and technology issues


Basic plasma physics


Astrophysical and geophysical plasmas


Low temperature plasmas


Dusty and complex plasmas


High intensity laser produced plasmas and inertial confinement

The choice of the topics and the selection of the papers were made by the International Programme Committee, appointed by the Board of the EPS Plasma Physics Division.

  R. Koch

ERM/KMS, Brussels, Belgium, Chairman

  E. Ascasibar

CIEMAT, Madrid, Spain

  S. Atzeni

Universita' di Roma, Italy

  G. Bonhomme  

LPMI Nancy, France

  C. Chiuderi

Universita' di Firenze, Italy

  B. Kuteev

Polytechnical University, St Petersburg, Russia

  M. Mauel

Columbia University, New York, USA, APS-DPP representative

  R.A. Pitts

EPFL/CRPP, Lausanne, Switzerland

  R. Salomaa

Helsinki University, Finland

  B. Sharkov

ITEP, Moscow, Russia

  V. Smirnov

Kurchatov Institute, Moscow, Russia

  W. Suttrop

IPP, Garching, Germany

  C. Varandas

IST, Lisbon, Portugal

  F. Wagner

IPP, Greifswald, Germany, Chair EPS-PPD

  H.R. Wilson

UKAEA, Abingdon, United Kingdom

The Conference Programme includes a plenary talk delivered by this year's winner of the Hannes Alfvén Prize of the EPS Plasma Physics Division, Professor Vladimir E. Fortov, 30 invited talks selected by the Programme Committee and 845 contributed papers, from which 92 were selected for oral presentation.

As in the past, the Hannes Alfvén Lecture and all the invited papers are published in the Special Issue of the journal Plasma Physics and Controlled Fusion. 740 four-page abstracts of contributed papers, timely submitted by the authors are published on the attached CD-ROM of the Europhysics Conference Abstracts series. A copy of the PPCF Special Issue and CD-ROM will be sent to each registered participant.

The organisers and the editors would like to thank all participants for their valuable input to the Conference Programme and efforts in writing 4-page abstracts.

Finally, we wish to acknowledge the nice work done by the Ioffe Institute Editorial Office (headed by Valerii Grigor'yants) in the preparation of the conference publications.

R. Koch, ERM/KMS, Brussels
S. Lebedev, Ioffe Institute, St Petersburg