cfn/ist logo
28th European Physical Society Conference on

Controlled Fusion and Plasma Physics

EPS Conference logo
EPS logo

Madeira Tecnopolo, Funchal, Portugal
18-22 June 2001

Editors: C. Silva, C. Varandas and D. Campbell

CD-ROM Producers: C. Silva, J. Pires and R. Nóbrega

by the European Physical Society, © 2001

Reproduction rights reserved.

This volume is published under copyright of the European Physical Society. We wish to inform authors that the transfer of the copyright to the EPS should not prevent an author from publishing an article in a journal quoting the original first publication or the use to use the same abstract for another conference. This copyright is just to protect EPS against using the same material in similar publications.

This proceedings may be purchased from Centro de Fusão Nuclear, Instituto Superior Técnico, Av. Rovisco Pais, 1049-001 Lisboa, Portugal

Preface of the Editors

The 28th European Physical Society Conference on Controlled Fusion and Plasma Physics was held at the 'Madeira Tecnopolo' conference centre in Funchal, Portugal, from 18 to 22 June 2001. It was organized by "Centro de Fusão Nuclear" (CFN) on behalf of the Contract of Association between the European Atomic Energy Community and "Instituto Superior Técnico" (IST), and held under the auspices of the Plasma Physics Division of the European Physical Society (EPS).

The Local Organizing Committee (LOC) was composed by members of CFN and of "Universidade da Madeira" (UM).

Following the guidelines of the Board of the EPS Plasma Physics Division, the 2001 Conference included topics from the areas of: tokamaks; stellarators; high intensity laser produced plasmas and inertial fusion; alternative magnetic confinement; plasma edge physics; plasma heating and current drive; diagnostics; basic plasma physics; astrophysical and geophysical plasmas; and applied plasma physics. The scientific programme and paper selection were the responsibility of the international Programme Committee (PC), appointed by the Board of the EPS Plasma Physics Division.

The conference was attended by 620 participants from 34 countries. The Programme Committee selected 5 review, 3 tutorial and 23 topical invited lectures. The 580 contributed papers were presented in 5 poster sessions with 33 also being selected for oral presentation. Additional features of the conference included the Hannes Alfvén Memorial Prize lecture, presented by Professor V D Shafranov, and an evening discussion session at which representatives of the guiding committees of the European Fusion Programme outlined ideas for its development during the 6th European Framework Programme (2003-2006) in view of the possibility of initiating ITER construction during that period. The session allowed members of the European fusion laboratories to exchange ideas with the committee representatives. The conference was also significant for the range and quality of the results from the operation and scientific exploitation of the JET Facilities by the EURATOM Associations under the European Fusion Development Agreement.

The invited papers, together with the Hannes Alfvén Memorial Prize lecture by Professor V D Shafranov, have been refereed by members of the international Programme Committee and will be published as a special issue of the journal Plasma Physics and Controlled Fusion. A copy will be sent to each registered participant.

The four-page contributed papers are published without refereeing as a Conference Proceedings CD-ROM in the series Europhysics Conference Abstracts of the EPS. The Conference Proceedings have also been made available at the conference website ( This service has been made available through the ELISE conference submission programme developed by CRPP-EPFL, Lausanne. Final editing and CD-ROM production was carried out by the Local Organising Committee using the submissions processed by ELISE.

The EPS-2001 had two satellite meetings:

  • 5th Workshop on Fast Ignition of Fusion Targets. This workshop was held at the "Madeira Tecnopolo", in parallel with the EPS-2001 conference. Contributed papers are also available in the CD-ROM proceedings.

  • 4th Workshop on the Role of Electric Fields on Plasma Confinement and Exhaust, 24-25 June 2001.

C. Silva, C. Varandas and D. Campbell

Programme Committee

        D. Campbell  EFDA, Chairman
J. DrakeUSA, APS
J. HonrubiaSpain
S. KarttunenFinland
S. Kuhn Austria
S. LebedevRussia
B. SaouticFrance
T. Todd United Kingdom
B. UnterbergGermany
C. VarandasPortugal, LOC
V. Vershkov Russia
L. Villard Switzerland
F. Wagner Germany, EPS
M. Watkins EFDA
J. WeilandSweden
O. WilliUnited Kingdom

Local Organizing Committee

        C Varandas  IST, Chairman
M E MansoIST, Vice-Chairman
C SilvaIST, Scientific Secretary
M F PintoIST, Administrative Secretary
F SerraIST
P VarelaIST
A SilvaIST
M BenilovUM


The Local Organizing Committee acknowledges support from:

  • Instituto Superior Técnico

  • European Atomic Energy Community

  • Governo Regional da Madeira

  • Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia

  • Programa Operacional Ciência, Tecnologia, Inovação do Quadro Comunitário de Apoio III

  • Universidade da Madeira

  • Universidade Técnica de Lisboa

  • Centre de Recherches en Physique de Plasmas

  • Banco BPI

| Table of Contents |                     | PDF version of this document |